Search Site

This search form uses an instant search feature. As you type, search results will appear automatically below the search field. When you've entered you desired search terms use tab to navigate through the available results and hit enter to open the selected page or document.
21st Annual Frostbite 4
21st Annual Frostbite 4
Brian Field
Tuesday, November 05, 2019

Beresford’s 21st Annual Frostbite 4, South Dakota’s Premier Winter Road Race will be held at Beresford High School on Saturday, February 1, 2020 at 11:00 a.m. 

This year’s Frostbite 4 will benefit the Beresford Athletic Booster Club.  The Frostbite 4 has been a primary fundraiser for the Beresford Athletic Booster Club whose mission is to support and encourage student participation in school sponsored athletic programs.  The Booster Club promotes, encourages and recognizes high standards of sportsmanship.  They also support, enhance and help make improvements to Beresford School District’s athletic program. 

Last year, the Frostbite 4 raised over $13,000.  Since its inception in 2000, the Frostbite 4 has raised $172,000 for the Beresford Athletic Booster Club. 

Last year’s race had 460 registered runners, which was a new record!  Once again, we will have Electronic Chip Timing by All Sport Central.  All of the entrants’ bibs will have a computer chip used for timing the four-mile run and two-mile run/walk.  The race will feature A4 dri-fit, long-sleeve shirts to all registered race participants.  For an additional $5, registered race participants will have the option to upgrade to a hooded sweatshirt. 

New this year—Hammer Nutrition will be providing the sports nutrition the day of the event and Frostbite 4 pom beanies (stocking hats) and mittens can be purchased on race day!

605 Running Company ( of Sioux Falls will have a mobile running store set up at the Frostbite.  Once again, they have donated gift cards for the overall top 3 male and top 3 female finishers in the 4-mile and the 7 male and 7 female age group winners in the 4-mile.

$100 Gift Cards—1st place male and 1st place female in 4-mile

$75 Gift Cards—2nd place male and 2nd place female in 4-mile

$50 Gift Cards—3rd place male and 3rd place female in 4-mile

$20 Gift Cards—1st place male and 1st place female in 4-mile for each of the 7 age groups

Ceramic Frostbite 4 figurines will be awarded to the overall male and female winners of the 2-mile and 4-mile and male and female age group winners in the 4-mile race.  All pre-registered runners will be eligible for door prizes that will be drawn and placed in their race day packets.  Post-race events include a chili and chicken noodle soup feed at the Bridges at Beresford, with entertainment provided by the Crabgrass Crew of Sioux Falls.

Three courses will be marked and weather conditions on the day of the race will determine which course is used.  Runners will be bused to the race starting line and the finish line will be at Beresford High School.

We encourage all runners to register online at  You can also pick up registration forms in one of our school offices.  Race day registration and packet pickup will take place from 9:00-10:30 a.m. at Beresford High School.  Save $5 by registering now!  Early registration is $30 through January 24, 2020.  Late registration is $35 from January 25 through January 31, 2020 at 3:00 p.m. 

The Frostbite 4 Race Committee began selecting an “Honorary Starter” in 2003 and a “Friend of the Watchdogs” in 2004.  

Past “Honorary Starters” include:  2019—Ben Carlson; 2018—Adam Nelson; 2017—Chuck VonEschen; 2016—Duane & Mary Auch, 2015—Dick & Judy Travis and Kevin Nelson, 2014—Rosemary Weiland, 2013—Gale Gors, 2012—Bill Vermillion, 2011—Lexi DeLay & Family, 2010—Mara (McGill) Seier, 2009—Dan Bergland, 2008—Sheri Oswald, 2007—Alex Horstman, 2006—Dawn Nordquist, 2005—Steve Jurgensen, 2004—Ken and Deb Bonte, and 2003—Gini Finger.

Past “Friend of the Watchdogs” include:  2019—Sheridan Swee; 2018—Jack Finger; 2017—Kelly A. & Kelly B. Knutson; 2016—Tom Frieberg, 2015—Mike Seivert, 2014—Scott Klungseth, 2013—Keith Kropuenske, 2012—Cortland Carnes, 2011—Ken Bonte, 2010—Mike Mohr, 2009—Mike Conklin, 2008—John Wilzewske, 2007—Jim Babb, 2006—Jim Sorensen, 2005—Jim Heeren, and 2004—Roger Krause.

The Frostbite 4 is currently securing sponsorships for the 2020 race.  Last year, our Frostbite 4 had 46 race sponsors.  There are three sponsorship levels:  $1000 (Gold), $300 (Silver), and $100 (Bronze).  If you are interested in being a race sponsor, please contact Brian Field at or Troy Boone at  We would like to thank our Frostbite 4 sponsors and runners for their continued support!  

We hope to see you at the Frostbite 4 on February 1st!!